Shifting Ground

Shifting Ground

with Alexi Kenney & Xuan

Visual art commissioned by Baryshnikov Arts

April 25, 26, 27 at 7 PM

Jerome Robbins Theater
$39 ($35 + $4 fee)

Violinist Alexi Kenney and new media artist Xuan combine their creative forces in an immersive multidisciplinary program that joins solo violin works from the 18th to 21st centuries with boundary-pushing projection art. Music by J.S. Bach and Nicola Matteis flows seamlessly into works by new voices such as Rafiq Bhatia and Angélica Negrón, as Xuan conjures immersive, imaginative landscapes in response.

Alexi Kenney is one of the most sought-after violinists of his generation, performing with some of the greatest orchestras of the world including those of Cleveland, Pittsburgh, San Francisco, and Dallas, l’Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, and the Gulbenkian Orchestra. Xuan is a filmmaker and musician whose work traverses music and visuals and has been shown in galleries and festivals from Berlin and Zürich to Chicago and Hong Kong.

Produced in collaboration with the Ojai Music Festival.


RAFIQ BHATIA Descent (2021)

J.S. BACH Allemande from Partita in D minor, BWV 1004 (1720)

PAUL WIANCKO Allemande from X Suite for Solo Violin (2019)

ANGÉLICA NEGRÓN The Violinist for violin and electronics, story by Ana Fabrega (2023)

J.S. BACH Grave from Sonata in A minor, BWV 1003 (1720)

NICOLA MATTEIS Alla Fantasia (c. 1700)

KAIJA SAARIAHO Nocturne for solo violin (1994)

SALINA FISHER Hikari for solo violin (2023)

MARIO DAVIDOVSKY Synchronisms No. 9 for violin and tape (1988)

MATTHEW BURTNER Elegy from Muir Glacier, 1889–2009 for violin and glacier sonification (2017/2020)

J.S. BACH Chaconne from Partita in D minor, BWV 1005 (1720)

Violinist Alexi Kenney is forging a career that defies categorization, following his interests, intuition, and heart.

Xuan is a new media artist, filmmaker, and pianist working at the intersection of music, visual art, and technology.

Ticket Pricing Info